Homemade Korean Dinner

Have you ever had a craving for a specific cuisine? And you just rush to a restaurant to order everything you urged for but were stopped in the trail of your thoughts because the price was just too much, especially when payday is still miles away? Then look no further and start in the heart of the kitchen!

It has been a while since I’ve had Korean food and I’m not one to cook this at home as my siblings were not the biggest fan for this hence, I tried to make food that would suit everyone rather than just myself. But as the cravings have been building up for so long; I decided to make it one night for my boyfriend and I at his new place.

When I say Korean food, two of the dishes that come to mind are: Kimchi and Bulgogi. Kimchi is actually fermented, spicy napa cabbage that is used as a side dish in all Korean food. Bulgogi is a type of grilled marinated beef that is normally used as the filling of a wrapped lettuce or just a dish with rice. These are the two essential dishes that will complete my type of Korean dinner. My boyfriend loves Korean Spicy Chicken Wings which features the famous Fermented Red Chilli Paste called: Gochujang therefore, we decided to add this to our dinner, alongside Korean Spicy Pork. We were definitely in for a feast!

I believe if you are making these dishes on the day, marinating these for about 4-hours would be enough to soak up all the ingredients. But if you decide to prepare this the day before, overnight marinade would be best!

After 6-hours or preparing and marinating, it took less than an hour to cook all three dishes and dinner was ready in no time!

Top Left: Lettuce Top Middle: Korean Spicy Chicken Wings Top Right: Spicy Marinated Pork Bottom Far Left: Kimchi Bottom Left: Sliced Cucumber Bottom Right: Dipping Sauce Bottom Far Right: Bulgogi

Top Left: Lettuce
Top Middle: Korean Spicy Chicken Wings
Top Right: Spicy Marinated Pork
Bottom Far Left: Kimchi
Bottom Left: Sliced Cucumber
Bottom Right: Dipping Sauce
Bottom Far Right: Bulgogi

If you are looking to try out a Korean dinner cuisine, here are some of the following blogs I would recommend you to check out:

  • Cooking Korean Food with Maangchi
  • Beyond Kimchee
  • Crazy Korean Cooking

Happy cooking! Do not fret about presentation; if it tastes delicious then you’re already there to substitute your current favourite cuisine to this!

Leave a comment